Body Confidence

I know I am not alone on this one. So many people I know have low body confidence or hate the body that they are in. In this day and age, we are constantly bombarded by the media of what is an acceptable body type or how we should look. It’s given people a “Barbie and Ken” complex about themselves. ( I just made that up. Not even sure if it exists. Haha )

I remember being in secondary school and hating the way I looked. ( I was a really late bloomer. Some still joke I haven’t actually hit puberty. ) I got teased for being small and flat chested. It made me get so obsessed with the idea of having huge boobs that I’ve even considered getting my boobs done. I also used to be so obsessed with my weight that I would starve myself or take diet pills ( which don’t work ). I was so obsessed on being what media has told me is beautiful that it has made me hate my body. It also didn’t help when boys I knew told me that I looked “hotter” once I lost weight.

It took me a while, but I finally grew out of it. Well, sorta. I still have days where I hate my body but, my body is my own and I should embrace it. So what if I have small boobs, at least they’ll remain perky when I get older. Haha. I also realised that personality is so much more important than aesthetics. Looks can only get you so far in life. Well, for us normal folk anyway. When I stopped obsessing over my body, I realised that people wanted to get to know me or date me because of my personality. Not because of my boobs or my weight. I’m sure this all plays a role, but if someone can’t see past the physical stuff to get to know you, they certainly aren’t worth your time.

One day I hope to be truly and completely comfortable in my own skin.

If you couldn’t be bothered to read or didn’t understand my 4am ramble, you should watch Sprinkle of Glitter’s video 🙂

Leave a Reply

